We Had Hope

I was talking to one of my friends about the “good ol’ days,” back when Facebook was filled with the people that I would see on a semi-regular basis.  Just thinking back to that time is very nostalgic for me.

Let me paint the picture for you.  It was when I was 19-22 years old, so my main concern was when the next turn up session was, when it actually should’ve been my grades.  The first black president was in office in his first term, and because of him we had hope. In what I have no idea but we had hope in something.

Those times were filled with fun and terrible decisions, which at that time seemed to go hand in hand.  From the times, we were buying so many bottles at the liquor store, they gave us boxes to bring it out (we were 19-20 years old at the time), to the times we would throw parties, get shut down by the police, then just change locations and continue partying (the location change was not in walking distance, by the way).  Like I said, terrible decisions.

For the most part, we only posted pictures that were “family friendly,” meaning not pictures of the bottles or obscene gestures, but we all were definitely drunk, and had those plastic solo cups in hand.  It was unsupervised, uncontrolled, reasonable (or at least we thought) fun.  I have many memories of those times, and that feeling comes right back every time I think about them.

Going from those times to now is a very different view.  Most of us are making better decisions, or at least I hope, and have moved on to do more adult-like things like get jobs to further our careers, or further our education, or just provide for ourselves.  The president is a guy who used to host a reality TV show, and who ran on the idea of making America great again, but I’m not quite sure anybody really knows what that means.

That feeling of hope is just not as abundant as it was.  I’m pretty sure if I thought long enough about, I could pin point the moment when the momentum changed, but I’ll just say it did and that sucks.  I’m not saying I’m not still hopeful, but that collective feeling of hope is gone.  I’m reminded of that every time I look at Facebook.  I go on there with the thought of, “let’s see what’s wrong with people and the world today,” and it never fails to show me, every single day.

My advice to you is to cherish the times when hope is in abundance.  Wallow in it, enjoy it with your friends, make some bad decisions in the name of it, and make the absolute most of it.  I say that because you never know when those times will become memories, and you want to have every emotion possible when those memories flash before your mind, but as always IDK THO.

Leave a Reply

